A Lesson on Rainy Days from My Favorite Cart Owner!

Post entitled, "One Good Reason to Fall In Love with Rain Again!"It’s no secret. All those that know me know I hate rainy days. But, not why you’d assume.

When I was younger, I was implicitly taught that rain was an inconvenience. It prevented you from being able to go out and play, it ruined your new clothes and shoes that your mom saved up to buy, and most importantly, despite my undying love for school, I hated it on rainy days. Not to mention, the humidity brought on the abominable frizz to all new hairdos.

For all of my New Yorkers, today is raining and  we know what that means: the trains will be cramped, people will be selfish, less than accommodating, and the humidity will be awful. Again, rain has become synonymous with inconvenience. Even though I enjoy my current job, rainy days remind me of my lack of “free will” and inability to stay in my cozy bed and be lulled to sleep by the drops on the window pane and balcony. However, even on a day such as this, there’s always room for little nuggets of inspiration and insight. Today’s lucky everyday sensei was my favorite cart owner as he made my egg, bacon, and cheese sandwich. The conversation went a little something like this:

Cart Owner: Hey man, how’s it going and how is everything?

Keith: (Busy typing on my iPhone and not exactly with a warm smile on my face) Things are fine. I don’t know, I just hate rainy days.

Cart Owner: Yeah, I don’t like rainy days. But then again, there’s nothing I can really do about them.

Keith: Yeah, I guess you have a good point there.

Cart Owner: I’d love to take the day off, but, if you don’t work, you don’t eat. If I’m not out here, I don’t get paid.

Keith: Well, people like me need you – food lifts my spirits. And, it’s a great thing that people are still hungry on rainy days, if not more than usual.

Cart Owner: Ahh, you’re right. Thank you – I needed that. (He hands me my egg, bacon, and cheese sandwich with a smile)

Keith: No problem. Here you go (I hand him the price of the sandwich with a pretty generous tip). Here’s a little something for coming and being so nice on such a rainy day.

Cart Owner: Thank you and you have a great day!

Now, as most New Yorkers may know, this conversation isn’t anything special. It’s not uncommon to chat it up as someone makes your food. But, something about it really resonated with me.  At the end of the day, of course we can’t help the rainy days. But, just because it’s raining doesn’t mean that it has to be an inconvenience. If anything, sometimes these days permit the perfect moments to take a step back and pay close attention to your surroundings. Yes, the trains may be sticky and humid, the cool rain may not feel comforting, and people may have attitudes straight from hell, but one things is very clear:we can’t help the rainy days.

So, with that being said, here’s my cc:Keith advice for the day. Instead of running, walk. Instead of of feeling like the world is inconveniencing you and everything is going horribly wrong, take the time to realize how, despite this being a rainy day, everything still moves according to plan. The birds are still chirping and bathing in the puddles, babies are fascinated by this new substance falling on their fingers, and focus on the few smiles you may encounter and SMILE BACK.

We may not be able to help the rainy days, but you never know whose life you may touch by just being you. I certainly had my life touched by a few simple nuggets of kindness and wisdom from my favorite Cart Owner.

Cheers to rainy days, better moods, and living life like its golden!

“If it’s worth your eyes, don’t forget to cc:Keith !”

